Governor Lee, Commissioner Rolfe award ThreeStar Grants to 54 Tennessee communities

Source: TNECD


  • 54 grants total $2.4 million
  • Funds support local workforce training, health and economic development initiatives

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee and Department of Economic and Community Development Commissioner Bob Rolfe announced today that 54 counties will receive ThreeStar grants.

In total, TNECD is awarding $2.4 million in funding to Tennessee communities through this round of the ThreeStar grant program.

“I congratulate these 54 counties that are receiving ThreeStar grants and thank them for strengthening the quality of life and enhancing workforce development in their communities,” Lee said. “This will help local communities to make Tennessee an even better place to live.”

The funding will be used for a variety of local community development initiatives including education, workforce development, health, tourism, small business, entrepreneurship, and economic development programs, among others that were prioritized through a strategic planning process. ThreeStar promotes economic and community prosperity through collaboration to positively impact every Tennessean.

“The ThreeStar grant program is a valuable tool that assists counties focused on making strides in key areas,” Rolfe said. “TNECD is proud to assist these 54 counties as they develop asset-based strategic plans and invest responsibly in their communities.”

Ninety-four counties have completed the requirements to be certified ThreeStar counties. To be eligible for ThreeStar grants, each county must meet all certification requirements, develop an asset-based strategic plan and design a program to implement a goal from its strategic plan.

“The ThreeStar Grants provide communities with resources to make strategic improvements and support their priority initiatives,” said Jody Sliger, TNECD community development director. “I congratulate these 54 recipients on their efforts to build their economies today with tomorrow in mind.”

The grants have been awarded to the following counties:

Anderson $50,000 Bradley $50,000
Campbell $25,000 Maury $50,000
Cannon $38,000 McMinn $21,000
Carter $50,000 McNairy $50,000
Clay $50,000 Meigs $25,000
Cocke $50,000 Monroe $50,000
Crockett $50,000 Morgan $50,000
Cumberland $50,000 Overton $50,000
Decatur $50,000 Perry $35,000
DeKalb $50,000 Pickett $25,000
Dickson $50,000 Polk $50,000
Fentress $21,000 Putnam $20,100
Giles $50,000 Rhea $50,000
Grundy $50,000 Roane $50,000
Hancock $50,000 Robertson $50,000
Haywood $50,000 Scott $50,000
Henry $10,000 Sequatchie $50,000
Hickman $50,000 Sevier $50,000
Houston $50,000 Smith $50,000
Humphreys $50,000 Stewart $50,000
Jackson $50,000 Sullivan $50,000
Johnson $50,000 Sumner $50,000
Lauderdale $35,000 Trousdale $47,500
Lewis $50,000 Warren $25,000
Lincoln $37,000 Washington* $50,000
Loudon $50,000 Wayne $50,000
Macon $50,000 White $50,000

*Washington County grant is a regional project impacting Carter and Unicoi counties.

News Archive